Daylight Saving Time officially begins at 2 a.m. Sunday, March 13, so don’t forget to “spring forward” and set your clocks ahead an hour. Texas is one of 48 states that observe Daylight Saving Time; Hawaii and most of Arizona do not. 

Additionally, in support of the longstanding national “Change Your Clocks, Change Your Batteries” initiative, the Fire Department encourages residents to check the batteries in their smoke detectors. If the batteries need replacing, the Department recommends replacing them with lithium batteries since they last longer than traditional batteries.