Unofficial results from the May 6 Election show voters approved the proposed $46 million 2023 Bond proposition to build a new City Hall by a margin of nearly 70 percent. In addition, all seats on the Richardson City Council were up for election May 6. 

The unofficial election results and vote totals are as follows (only one candidate is listed for Places 2, 4 and 6 since those candidates were unopposed). The official results will be canvassed Monday, May 15, at the City Council meeting.    

City Council Place 1 
G. Scott Waddell – 4,014 (45.96%)
Curtis Dorian – 4,719 (54.04%) 

City Council Place 2 
Jennifer Justice – 7,381 (100%) 

City Council Place 3 
Dan Barrios – 5,174 (57.24%)
Stephen Springs – 3,865 (42.76%) 

City Council Place 4 
Joe Corcoran – 7,263 (100%) 
City Council Place 5 
Todd Harris Hunter – 2,966 (33.78%)
Ken Hutchenrider – 5,815 (66.22%) 

City Council Place 6 
Arefin Shamsul – 7,106 (100%) 
Mayor (Place 7)  
Bob Dubey – 4,909 (51.58%)
Janet DePuy – 4,609 (48.42%) 

Swearing in of newly elected Mayor and City Council members will take place immediately following the canvassing of election results, scheduled for 6:30 p.m. Monday, May 15 during the City Council’s regular weekly meeting. The meeting will take place at the Eisemann Center for Performing Arts and Corporate Presentations, located at 2351 Performance Dr, Richardson, TX 75082.  

Monday’s meeting was relocated from the Council’s current meeting location at the Richardson Police Department Multipurpose Room to accommodate a larger audience expected to attend the swearing in ceremony.  

Council meetings are available to view online and on-demand at the City’s website at Live viewing on the City’s cable access channels for Spectrum and U-Verse have been unavailable since Aug. 22, 2022 due to damage sustained after a fire damaged City Hall. Work to restore cable coverage is underway and expected to resume once City Hall offices are relocated into a new temporary facility.